poetry

Wheel

I’m on the passenger seat
staring down the highway
cat eyes, blink at me
whispering what I wont say
I see my soul by the lone tree
quaking, shaking going astray

darlin’ you know
you let go
trying to force yourself to grow
but only wilting away
your motor’s run
what a burden
carry crap that weighs a ton
ready for the final hurray
let go of the wheel

I’m on the passenger seat
with no one by my side
aimlessly on the concrete
fate take me for a ride
at the end of it where will I be
Oh absolution won’t you decide

darlin I know
I let go
tried to force myself to grow
oh so futile a try
now the battles done
of the war not won
injured, I lie here stunned
unable to move my eyes
my body struck down, paralyzed
only live for the world fantasized
and let go of the wheel
let go of the wheel.
let go of the wheel.

Daily prompt Wheel

Daily prompt Passenger

1 thought on “Wheel”

Leave a Reply

