Stories

Taper

At first they wore the aspect of charity, and seemed white slender angels who would save me; but then, all at once, there came the most deadly nausea over my spirit, and I felt every fiber in my frame thrill as if I had touched the wire of a galvanic battery, while the angel forms became meaningless specters, with heads of flame, and I saw that from them there would be no help.

The Pit and the Pendulum – Edgar Allan Poe

Daily prompt Taper.A candle, especially a very slender one (dictionary.com)

3 thoughts on “Taper”

Leave a Reply

