poetry

Appreciation

So I guess I am too dark; people, they run away
I stop on the blunt edges flirt with the impaled
Stealing glances from what could be
An irreversible phenom calling out to me
The first stroke of my pen, second guessing its ability
Till someone, a pure one, replies to the letter I wrote openly
I bore my soul portion by portion
For I was baking something fine
Sure my cake cooled below the desired
But before I thought it was a fake
Or it threatened to deflate
One took a piece and smiled with naivety
Naïve child, knowing not how precious those pearly whites had come to mean
So I thank you, for a depressed person happiness is a stretch
But you helped me believe in it.

Leave a Reply

