Food

Green Peas Pilaf

Hey! As mentioned in my introduction, I love to cook! Therefore, I thought why not share some of my recipes on this blog and it is one way of recording them down (I am too lazy to write out a recipe by hand, writing the ingredients is usually good enough for me. Let me repeat, I am lazy).

My dad is a sucker for green peas, my sister and I believe that one day life may just pull a Willy Wonka and make a green-Violet-Beauregarde-postejection-sized-pea out of him. That’s what makes him so darn cute (don’t tell my mother I said that). Anyway, what follows is an incredibly simple recipe to green pea pilaf, also known as mutter pulao. Enjoy!

 

Ingredients:

1/2 – 3/4 cup oil

1 TBSP of Ginger paste

4 – 6 Cloves

4 – 6 green cardamom

15 green chilies sliced in halves. (My family and I eat plain green chili for sport so the amount may be too hot for some of you, but it is important to keep in mind that there will be no other spice besides these green chilies thus, you will really need to rely on it to give you the flavor you need.)

3 – 4 cups of green peas

1 & 1/2 – 2 TSP of salt (to season the peas)

3 – 4 cups of water

Salt to season water for rice

3 – 4 cups of basmati rice


Directions:

Wash and soak your rice and set aside

In a wok, add your oil and ginger and stir until fragrant on medium-high heat for about 1 minute or 2.

Next, add the cloves, cardamom and sliced chilies and mix for 5 minutes till you can smell the green chili, clove, and cardamom.

IMG_1958

Add in your green peas and salt and fry for around 8 – 10 minutes till the peas start to wrinkle and are well seasoned by the salt. (peas naturally have a sweet flavor you just want to be able to elevate the peas by bringing about a nice balance between the sweet and savory factor)

IMG_1966

Once that is done add in your water and let it come to a boil on high heat.

IMG_1968

When the water comes to a rolling boiling season the water with salt (I usually add 1 – 1&1/2 TBSP), taste the water as you do so.

IMG_1971

when you find the water is perfectly seasoned, drain and add the soaked rice into the boiling water.

ezgif.com-gif-maker

Wait for the rice to come to a boil. Once it does start boiling, cover wok with a lid and let it cook for five minutes on high heat. After the 5 minute mark, bring the heat down to low and let it cook for 10 minutes.

When the 10 minutes are up, get your plate ready and treat yourself to some delicious and incredibly simple Green pea pilaf. (Unfortunately, I was stuck preparing salad dressing and never got a chance to take a picture of the final product before it was devoured by my lovely family).

 

**Remember recipes are never truly written in stone so don’t be afraid to experiment a little here and there. Do try one recipe as is before you go on experimenting and familiarize yourself with the flavors and your taste buds.**

I hope you liked it! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

